Annual Conference | Rourkela | 2012

The MGOCSM & YM Annual Conference was held at MGM School, Rourkela from 26th to 28th October , 2012 and the host unit was St. Paul’s Orthodox Church, Rourkela. 16 units from different parts of the diocese attended this conference. This meet was inaugurated by H.G. Dr. Joseph Mar Dionysius in the presence of Mr. Sushil Kumar Kindo (Jilla Parishad Member, Rourkela) and other dignitaries from the diocese. H.G. Dr. Joseph Mar Dionysius spoke on the theme “THRIVE IN CHRIST” (John. 10:10). Other divine speakers were Rev. Fr. Samuel George (Member, Mt. Horeb Ashram, Shasthamkotta) Rev. Fr. Philip Kuruvilla and Rev. Fr. Jobby Peter. Rev. Fr. Jobin P.T. lead a meditation session and Rev. Dn. Cherian Joseph, Br. Mobin Varghese along with the host choir conducted a meditation session before the confession. Mr. Sunil Varghese (Lay Evangelist, Korba) was also present along with a group of delegates from Rourkela vicinity.

Solo song, group song, quiz and banner competitions were also a part of this conference in which all the units participated actively. Rev. Fr. Shaji P. Joshua (Vicar, St. Paul’s Orthodox Church, Rourkela) and the parish members toiled very hard to make this conference a grand success. Rev. Fr. Kurian Abraham, Rev. Fr. Jose K. Varghese, Rev. Fr. Sanju John, Rev. Fr. Aju K. Varghese and sister from St.Thomas Ashram were also present. Rev. Fr. Lijo John (Vice President, MGOCSM Diocese of Kolkata) thanked all the dignitaries and the host church for their hard work.
The conference ended with prayer and benediction by Tirumeni. The overall championship trophy was awarded to MGOCSM unit, Raipur.

Details of Winners of Various Competitions

Solo Song
1st Prize : Miss Stephy Annie Sabu, Korba Unit
2nd Prize : Mr. Sanju Chacko, Bhopal Unit
3rd Prize : Mr. Jom Thomas, Jabalpur Unit

Group Song
1st Prize : Raipur Unit
2nd Prize : CCET Unit, Bhilai
3rd Prize : Jamshedpur Unit

1st Prize : Raipur Unit
2nd Prize : Bhopal Unit
3rd Prize : Nagpur Unit

Banner Competition
1st Prize : Jamshedpur Unit

The overall championship trophy was awarded to MGOCSM Raipur unit.

Facebook Comments


About the Author


MGOCSM, the oldest student organisation in Asia is the student wing of Indian Orthodox Church and it has grown as an international movement with about 1,500 units all over the world. Our utmost motto is 'Worship - Service - Study'.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *